Added Bonus: Movie Review

Nah, not really. And I wouldn’t trouble you if I hadn’t just sent out a real posting. But I just saw the movie “The King’s Speech.” I would be interested in the opinion of any of you guys in the UK, if you’ve seen this movie. In e-mail, though… In front of your comments, I will say that I was well impressed by the production and acting. I am wondering, though, what our cousins on the other side of the pond think of this representation of members of the royal family. As a more-or-less rational American, I have no bone to pick with British royalty: in fact, I have toasted the Queen on her birthday more than once whilst traveling in Her dominions.

3 Comments

  1. töff said,

    January 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    I too took in this flick, and was quite impressed with Colin Firth all around, HBC for her exquisite uppah-crahst accent, and Mr. Rush as usual. I love Tim Spall and he did a creditable job of impersonation, but he was just physically wrongly cast as Churchill. I can’t vouch for the historical accuracy of the film in general, but at least it’s entirely believable. Edward VII’s attitude about the crown was particularly well-presented. And if there is anything cooler than the BBC Radio control center, I don’t know what it is.

    I too have no bone to pick with the monarchy (well, maybe with Prince Charles); I’m quite an Anglophile; I often wish we had a royal family of some sort here; and I often feel somewhat embarrassed, in the presence of Brits, at being a breakaway rebel sort. But I also love America and would not change the general history if I could.

    If you like Britain or WW2-era history at all, the film’s worth the admission price. Two thumbs up!

  2. wrycur said,

    February 3, 2011 at 3:39 am

    My wife and I saw it a couple weeks ago, and loved it. I would echo most of the comments above about it, including the Churchill actor as being the wrong physical type.

    I like prince Charles and the British and have been known to ask Brits if they might be interested in taking the colony back……….especially lately.

    • wrycur said,

      February 4, 2011 at 4:04 am

      Forgot to mention yesterday–My mother (born in 1920) used to tell me how much King George’s speeches meant to a lot of Americans during the war–they saw them as moral inspiration.

      And, if the movie is anything close to accurate, how near American servicemen and their wives all came to not having that moral inspiration…


Leave a Reply

