Slipcase for Your Six Volumes

Some of you had been asking me about slipcases or covers for the books. The difficulty has been that shipping something the size of your books would cost the same as the books: the shipping goes by volume, and not weight. However, our binder, Sr. Biffi, has come up with a (patented) folding slipcase that looks really nice. It is heavy cardboard (similar to that within your book covers) that is covered with buckram: the material your books are finished with. However, the neat thing is that these covers ship flat, and you fold them into a box. Now, I thought this was going to look somewhat tacky, but not at all. They look very nice. I have attached a few photos taken at the bindery, and you can see what you think.

The price will be approximately $70 plus shipping, give or take a bit depending on how many people want them. Those of you in the EU may be able to receive them directly from Milan–I will check this out. In the US, I will ship them from Virginia. The rest of the world: I’m trying to figure that one out. Have a look at the photos, and if you are interested, “raise your hand” so that I can get a count, a final price, and some idea of what shipping will be.

The empty slipcase, assembled

Slipcase from rear corner

Slipcase, showing books from front

7 Comments

  1. töff said,

    January 26, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Here I was, gonna build a wooden box … a lot of time and trouble. Hmm. This is a nice solution. Tough choice! Put me down as a maybe, if you’re counting maybes.

    • rclacovara said,

      January 26, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      Well, it does seem to look pretty good, and it will be sized correctly. Plus, the material should pretty much match the covers of the books.

  2. Jim Pattison said,

    January 26, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    I’ll admit that I was a little skeptical about the whole idea of a ‘folding slipcase’, but this actually looks quite nice. Put me down a ‘yes’.

    By the way, my copies of Vols. 5 & 6 arrived today (in Canada). It’s nice to finally see all six volumes lined up beside each other in my bookcase.

  3. Jim Bussman said,

    January 27, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Count me in for the slipcase, Bob.

  4. dan fleming said,

    January 28, 2011 at 5:49 am

    yep, sign me up, bob, looks really nice. thanks for looking into getting making this available.

  5. Captain Cudgel said,

    January 28, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    I don’t see a way to pirate one, so I guess count me in too. Arggg

  6. töff said,

    January 29, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Change mine to a “no” unless the price plummets to … oh, a level it won’t plummet to. I’m still living hand-to-mouth, and I just can’t justify the expense. *sigh* Too bad, bcz the set will be “incomplete” without it. Oh well! These are the travails of poverty.

    Maybe Bob will stock up some spare slipcases, and I’ll find a job, and then I can complete my set 🙂 Positive thinking!


Leave a Reply

