Shipping Update

The ship with the last two volumes, 5 & 6, has made port in New York. Now the usual process: container content through customs in Richmond, VA, shipping from Richmond, VA to Charlottesville. The books won’t be here this week, because it’s a 3 day week due to the Christmas and New Year’s holidays. So delivery will occur sometime next week. Then they go out to you. This can take up to two weeks: this is not my day job. And I want to keep my day job…they allow me to ship to our dock here, which is nice of them. But they are fussy about paying me to pack and ship books.

If you are a recent subscriber, and are waiting for any of volumes 1-4, some are shipping tomorrow, and some the day after. That will catch up most of you. A few people haven’t paid the second payment of $600, or the final payment of $295 plus S&H. But I’ll bug you if that’s the case.

 

8 Comments

  1. töff said,

    December 29, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    The finish line is in sight!
    *snoopy dance*
    Congrats, Bob, on a well-captained project!

  2. mamazboy said,

    December 29, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    Hallelujah! I’m enjoying the first four volumes immensely, and especially Paul R’s fantastic engravings. They add a lot.

    Thanks for all your efforts on this, Bob. Most appreciated!

    • rclacovara said,

      December 30, 2010 at 9:52 am

      Ha! Those engravings! My sister-in-law (my wife’s twin, BTW, there’s a funny story there) is the chief honcho librarian for the Cherry Hill, NJ school system. She wanted a set of posters to hype up a SciFi week, despite my screams that nooooooo one calls it SciFi… anyway, I got Joel Anderson to make high resolution scans of a few of the engravings, and printed them on 13 by 19 paper… they were most impressive. I bet they would blow up to 2 or 3 times that. If you are interested in such a thing, let me know, and I’ll see what Paul says. I think a small gratuity to Paul might be in order, I dunno…

      Oh, the funny thing: I married my wife in 2004 after a short 8 year discussion period. We had known each other since September 4, 1966, when I first laid eyes on her on my first day of high school, thinking: “hmm: one of the ones that thinks she’s special.” Because she was. Then I heard a little voice, “she is, you know.” Well, it took me a few years to figure it out, boys are stupid. Anyway, I had known her and her twin sister decades. Then about 3 years ago, with Jackie’s birthday coming, I asked her, “hey, when’s your sister’s birthday…” Duh. And you guys have trusted me with your money…

      Happy and Prosperous New Year to you…

  3. mamazboy said,

    January 1, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Bob,

    Great story about the sister-in-law and “SciFi” (hey, as long as they read it…). I’d surely be interested in obtaining a couple of those engravings (I’m restraining my greed) to hang on the wall and would be happy to send a gratuity Paul’s way. Let me know how this might be facilitated with a minimum of fuss on your part.

    Also, should I email you separately to purchase a copy of Paul’s book? I liked his essay in that British book and would like to read more…

    Have a fantastic New Year.

    Gary

  4. aferox said,

    January 3, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Great story. And great work , Bob! This has been quite an undertaking.

    I don’t know if anyone has asked this before, but have people expressed interest in a consistent set of dust jackets for these volumes? Don’t even know how that would be done, but looking at my first two volumes on the shelf, I would love to shield/protect them (especially the exposed spines) somehow.

    Happy New Year to all!

    Tim

    • rclacovara said,

      January 11, 2011 at 3:36 pm

      I may do that, or perhaps slip covers for them… I don’t know yet. It’s a good thought.

      • Jeffrey A. said,

        January 16, 2011 at 4:25 am

        Tim,

        If Bob is able to do some covers for you, problem solved. But otherwise, you could always get a roll of Brodart or Gaylord dustjacket material and cover them as per the instructions available at:

        http://www.awfulbooks.com/awfulbooks/Frameset.html

        It is a little difficult to find, but if you scroll down the left frame, click “Extra! Extra!” and then scroll down the main frame, there is a link to a set of instructions giving a method for Brodart-ing “naked” (i.e., dustjacketless) books. I do this for all my books without dustjackets when I receive them. It is very clean and effective, and a 12″ roll of Brodart dustjacket cover is enough for many (easily 250) books.

  5. Captain Cudgel said,

    January 10, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Bob, no sign of 5 and 6 yet. Were they shipped? I am in South Florida.


Leave a Reply

