Shipping Update for Final Two Volumes

Seems that it’s been over a month since I posted last.

Volumes 5 & 6 are being packed for shipment. They will be picked up in Milan on 12/1. They will be ship-board around 12/5.  I should have them 2-3 weeks later. This is a month later than I had expected: I’m sorry about that. It takes me as long as 2 weeks to get everyone’s books out of my facility to the USPS, but in this case, I will be probably working this as hard as I can to try to ship before the Christmas holiday rush.

As I get more information, I will post it.

 

5 Comments

  1. Rebecca Stefoff said,

    November 20, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    Hi, Bob–

    Looking forward to receiving 5 & 6. I am sure they will be as delightful as 1-4.

    A couple of questions:

    1. Are you going to email each of us a “balance due” for our final payments, or should we just go ahead and send you our third payments?

    2. Have you given any thought to making an ereader version of the CVIE available to people who have bought the set? Apologies if this question has been raised and thrashed to death before. I read a lot of books in PDF or Mobi formats, and I just got a Kindle . . . .

    Thank you again for all your labors on this project!

    • November 21, 2010 at 11:40 am

      PDF is, unfortunately, one of the worst possible formats for e-books. It has no way to adapt to differing screen sizes — it simply was never designed for such use. For lack of a real e-book-reader, I sometimes read books on my netbook. Since it has one of those fashionable wide-screen screens, it is really unsuitable for reading (it really should be rotated 90 degrees), so I have to restrict window widths to about half the screen widths. Which means that in pdfs the letters would become too small… So it is much better to have some format that allows the text to reflow dynamically – epub for instance (which is basically XML files in a ZIP file).

      • Rebecca Stefoff said,

        November 21, 2010 at 12:12 pm

        Yes, definitely a reflowable format would be ideal. I mentioned PDF only because I’ve read a lot of books in that format on my netbook (rotated sideways, as you mentioned) and I thought it might be easy. But ePub files would be terrific. I’ve been playing around with Calibre for translating ebooks from one format into another; basically, you can make anything readable on the Kindle.

  2. Interested... said,

    November 23, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    I’ve been very impressed with the quality of the first four books, and I am thoroughly enjoying them. As to getting out 5 and 6 to USPS, I understand the need to work fast. For my part, I’d choose to accept a slightly longer shipping time in order to prevent damage to the books, if that is necessary. I’ve just been very happy with the previous ones.

    • Wotnau said,

      December 7, 2010 at 6:30 am

      I have to second that. Personally, I prefer 5&6 to arrive a bit later (even if it’s EoJanuary) but in 100% condition. Not being a native speaker, I already have something to read for at least months to come. 🙂 Anyway, once again thanks for your commitment, Bob!


Leave a Reply

