The Horrors of Exchange Rates

Folks,

I’ve just sent off a bunch of money to my printer. The exchange rate between the USD and the Euro is about as bad as it has ever been, USD 1.42 per Euro. I wring my hands, and think: if only the exchange rate were kinder, I could buy cheese for my children so that their legs could grow straight…

Well, no matter. If necessary, I will fashion wooden braces for them if their bones become too brittle.

Oh. Yes. I had wanted to tell you something.

The exchange rate is my problem, not yours. I have brought the issue up because if you have been contemplating a second set, or contemplating your first set, or know anyone on the fence, now is a good time to buy a set, before I raise the price. I had always planned to add a couple hundred dollars to the price as soon as all of the subscriptions were fulfilled: those of you who waited, paid money, waited some more, and generally trusted some guy on the Internet have purchased these books for the absolute minimum. Once my printer tells me that 5 & 6 are done, the price of a set will become something like (not certain yet, but…) $1495. If the exchange rate doesn’t behave, it could be higher.

All this means to you, as a subscriber or someone watching this list, is that you may order another set or even your first set at $1295 for a month or so yet, or if you place a small deposit for a set to be purchased by 31 December 2010, I’ll keep the original price for you.

Just a heads up…

4 Comments

  1. William said,

    October 5, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Hi Bob,

    Prescient that I am (not), I sent you an e-mail sunday asking about the possibility of becoming a subscriber. Are subs still open?

    Many thanks and kind regards,

    William

    • rclacovara said,

      October 5, 2010 at 1:24 pm

      William, yes, there’s no problem. I haven’t answered you yet because we’ve had a family emergency. I’ll get back to you shortly.

  2. William said,

    October 5, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Many thanks Rob,

    Apologies for the intrusion. My best wishes for your situation.

    William

    • rclacovara said,

      October 6, 2010 at 9:15 am

      Oh, it’s not a problem… my wife had to head north to NJ to help her mom and sister, I was left making sure the kids got to school, got home from school, and the pesky things want to be fed, besides…

      Bob


Leave a Reply

