About Money

I’ve had some questions lately, so I thought I’d repeat the subscription information.

For a new subscriber as of today:

  1. Send $400. You will receive the first two volumes by return mail.
  2. When you receive the volumes, $600 is due.
  3. When you receive the second two volumes, a balance of $295 is due, with shipping, handling, and fees as described below.

Shipping and handling for all six volumes:

  1. Domestic US: $60.
  2. Canada and Mexico: $100.
  3. Rest of the Gaian Reach: $180.
  4. Alastor Cluster: $260.
  5. Beyond the Pale: $500, delivery not certain.

Fees, only if you use PayPal:

  1. Domestic US: 3% of your total remittance
  2. Canada and Mexico: 4% of total remittance
  3. Rest of Gaian Reach: 6% of total remittance

I accept checks, money orders, Western Union provided that the instrument is denominated in US dollars. I can also accept wire transfers, but please check with your bank for fees at your end. It isn’t always cheap. You will need my bank information, so ask me for it in e-mail. The address for checks and money orders is

  • Afton House Books
  • 1779 Mountain Road
  • Afton, VA 22920
  • USA

If you would like to speak with me, send me e-mail and I’ll send back my phone information. I don’t care to put it on this blog.

There are a few special deals going: people who have individual shipping arrangements with me, folks in Italy near Milan, and some folk who paid in full up front. The shipping/handling/fees do not apply to you if we have an arrangement via e-mail.

Scheduling:

  • Vols. 1 & 2 are in stock here at Afton House Books.
  • Vols. 3 & 4 are somewhere between the port of New York customs, Richmond, VA, and my dock in Charlottesville.  I expect them any day now, and a week or so to ship them out to you.
  • Vols. 5 & 6 are with my printer. I expect them to be printed and bound before the end of September, here around the end of October, and on their way to you in November.
13 Comments

  1. Rhialto said,

    September 8, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Just to be clear: Those PayPal fees correspond to the fees that PayPal deducts for paying with a credit card, right? So what I have been doing (having PayPal charge those fees directly to me), is ok instead?

    • rclacovara said,

      September 9, 2010 at 12:03 pm

      If you paid the fees yourself, then I would not charge them back to you. The fees are how PayPal makes its money: I pay for the convenience that I offer the seller. If you have some way of paying them yourself, then I’m cool with that. Ditto for personal checks and money orders: I don’t see a fee.

      How would you pay the fee from your end?

      On transactions where currency is converted, PayPal gets a bit more than their basic 3%, it seems to rise to 4% for Canadians, and 6% elsewhere.

      Did that explanation make things better or worse?

      Bob

      • Rhialto said,

        September 10, 2010 at 8:23 pm

        I think that makes it clearer 🙂

        For information of others who read this, this is what I did: When paying with PayPal I can choose if the payment is a commercial or a personal one (I don’t have it in front of me, but the words are to that effect). If I choose the Personal kind, I get to choose who pays the fee: the sender or the receiver. In both cases I get to see how much I pay and how much the receiver gets. I chose for the sender, i.e. me, to pay, so that Bob received exactly the $600 I owed him. So unless PayPal is lying and charging him some fee again, that should be it, fee-wise.

      • Rhialto said,

        September 10, 2010 at 8:27 pm

        Oh, one more detail: PayPal then charged the amount in dollars to my credit card ($623,70), so it is them who get to do the currency conversion and any related fees (it worked out to EUR 493,84 at the time).

  2. Rebecca Stefoff said,

    September 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Bob, a slight confusion. Probably because I missed something along the way. Is there now a $60 fee to cover shipping and handling for purchasers within the US, in addition to the third payment of $295?

    If so, it’s certainly no problem; I’m sure you amply deserve it for handling all our thousands of pounds of books. I just want to clarify, as the original prospectus mentioned shipping fees only outside the US. (That, of course, is why I relocated to Oregon from my villa in Llalarkno for the duration of the project.)

  3. spam said,

    September 11, 2010 at 2:05 am

    hahaha i didnt get your humour first and thought “beyond the pale” referred to australia, i nearly spat my coffee on the laptop..
    nice.
    I have also been paying the fees myself but will go over my statements for the final payment and make sure you are receiving the correct amount. Now about those signed editions 😉

  4. September 21, 2010 at 1:04 am

    Some small confusion on my part:

    When the final payment is made, is there a single charge of $180 for non-American shipments, or triple that to pay for all shipments? I’m counting my coins to see if there’s any way I can purchase this, and every dollar counts!

    In case there’s no hope for me this time around, are there any plans to do this whole thing again? Speaking as a relatively poor youngster, chances are that I won’t be able to afford this deal of yours though I much would like to, some day.

    Thanks,
    Karl

    • rclacovara said,

      September 21, 2010 at 4:23 pm

      Karl, where are you?

      The total price for shipping all 6 volumes to anywhere on Earth except for the US, Canada and Mexico is $180. You may pay me an extra $360 if you so choose, and I will regard it as a pleasant “unsolicited gift”. But no one has done that yet, I am surprised to say.

      Bob

      • September 21, 2010 at 4:36 pm

        Bob, I am a resident of Iceland.
        I’m glad to hear that it’s only 180 dollars. This makes the purchase a little bit more likely.
        In any case, thank you for the work! The prospect of gaining access to all the works of my favorite writer is more than enough to make me giddy.

    • töff said,

      September 21, 2010 at 4:30 pm

      Karl — beg borrow or steal. Buy the books!

  5. Jim Pattison said,

    September 22, 2010 at 12:32 am

    After lurking here for months, I took the plunge myself recently and subscribed. I got my copies of Volumes I and II yesterday, and I have to agree with töff: if want these, and there’s any way you can afford them, Buy the Books! Trust me – you won’t regret it.

    • Wotnau said,

      November 9, 2010 at 6:57 pm

      Jim, I hate you. 😉 I discovered CVIE just recently and couldn’t make up my mind about the purchase. But your post pushed my trigger, you … good fellow. I wonder if I’m the only subscriber from the Czech Republic. Anyway, I’m off to do some drooling in advance, so I won’t damage the books when they arrive. 🙂


Leave a Reply

