Shipping Update

Well, all the books are shipped. With a few exceptions, noted below.

All domestic US volumes have been handed to the USPS. Almost all of you in the US have received a notice of shipping: in a couple of cases, this automatic notice messed up. On the other hand, Priority Mail in the US is supposed to take 2 days, may take 3, but suppose it takes a week: everyone in the US should have books by this time next week. More likely, by tomorrow.

Non-US subscribers: all books are out. All of you should get a shipping notice, with only a few exceptions. Priority Mail claims 6 – 10 days to Perth, Australia. I don’t know of anyone further than that, except those of you in New Zealand, maybe. The last went out this morning, so two weeks from today should be the absolute limit.

All subscribers: please check your shipping address. If it needs a correction, please send me a note at AftonHouseBooks@earthlink.net. Put your address on several lines, showing me exactly how your address should look. Please use correct capitalization. There are some peculiarities that I have to deal with: there are about 6 varieties of addressing around the world, and I don’t know them all. (Why don’t they do something useful at the UN, like standardize addressing?)  Postal codes go different places. The country name is always by itself on the last line. “The Netherlands” isn’t recognized by my mailing software, but “Netherlands” is. “United Kingdom”, which strikes me a just fine, narks the USPS. They want Great Britain, Ireland, Scotland…

A telephone number is recommended, for delivery issues. Please give me one when you check your address. If you are outside the US, give me the number as it would be dialed from a local number in your country. I’m afraid that I exhibit the “ugly American” syndrome with respect to telephone numbers: I don’t know how to change an internationally dialled long distance number into your local number. I’m sorry.

I have carefully selected the Harmonized shipping code for the books, to be accurate. I hope that for most of you, there is no duty. Remember that although you bought them from a business in the US, they were manufactured in Italy. This may or may not help. Some countries don’t have duty, others do.

A few of you have asked for invoices, I’ll send these out. Bug me if you don’t get one soon.

Please send your next payment, if you have not done so. Otherwise, I may have to sell a kidney. (Just kidding: I’ll sell one of my kid’s kidneys…)

I plan to start a thread on Reviews. Please use it; be gentle; let me know if you don’t wish to be quoted. If there is something that can be improved, let me know. It won’t happen for this printing, but perhaps it will be useful later on.

Last note: if you don’t get your books by next Thursday in the US, or the Thursday after, everywhere else, let me know. I have a sneaky suspicion that one or two of you didn’t give me a shipping address, and so I didn’t send you books. I have two sets unaccounted for, but “reserved”.

13 Comments

  1. Aaron Singleton said,

    July 1, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    According to the tracking info, my books will be here today. I cannot wait. Thank you so much Bob for your efforts. I am sure it was a lot of hard work.

  2. George Phillips said,

    July 1, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Thanks for all the hard work, Bob. I can’t wait to see my copy, though unfortunately it will have to wait until I get back home at the end of next week (I’m currently on holiday in NYC). I must say, it amuses me in a perverse way to hear all the delivery costs and times expressed using Perth as the worst case/outer limit, being of course the hapless Vance devotee who lives there (I’m assuming I’m probably the only subscriber hailing from Perth). Still, I’m sure it will be well worth it.

  3. Mark Stewart said,

    July 2, 2010 at 8:35 am

    You’re not the only sandgroper here, George! And I thought that Bob’s comments re Perth were being directed at me. I’m jealous of the lucky souls who have already received their books. Thanks again Bob for the mighty effort.

  4. Aaron Singleton said,

    July 2, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Just wanted to post and tell you that I did receive my books yesterday about 2:30 pm. I am absolutely satisfied with their quality, their look and feel, the font and the layout, yadda, yadda. Very well-made books, and larger than I had imagined. I haven’t had time to do any reading as of this morning, but am awaiting my first read of Bad Ronald with much excitement. Again, thank you Bob for the chance to buy this wonderful collection.

  5. Peter W said,

    July 2, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I agree – books are larger than expected, but beautiful – great job!

  6. töff said,

    July 2, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Books in hand! Now all that remains is to sit & read every damn word in them. I’d best get started …

    They’re beautiful editions, Bob. Thank you!

  7. dfan said,

    July 3, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Received mine yesterday, and they’re wonderful, totally worth the wait. Many thanks for all the work you’ve put into this project (and continue to).

  8. spam said,

    July 8, 2010 at 3:24 am

    Just got mine in sunny australia. Very nice Bob, thanks alot for your efforts. Your packaging was so good i needed to go for a smoke halfway through unpacking!

  9. JackBlackAust said,

    July 9, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    My copies arrived yesterday. Well done Bob – the books are a pleasure to read and hold.

  10. spam said,

    July 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

    hey guys, i was wondering if anyone else in volume one had blank pages between 27-28 and 53-54. The text on the 54th page on mine is quite noticeably crooked also.. 😦

    • töff said,

      July 12, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      I haven’t noticed any such condition in mine. It sounds as if the printer double-pulled the paper–which might account for the crooked text, also, as the printer’s paperfeed mechanism, which is designed to move onesheet through the printer, instead had to move two.

      You can think of this as one of those rare double-pressed coins or postage stamps printed upside down. You’ve got a one-of-a-kind CJV! And, if the text on p.54 is “crooked” (there’ll be another corresponding page that’s crooked, too, on the other side of the signature–maybe 27? it might be less crooked, as the sheet might have turned as it went through), but still readable, then you’re ahead of the game.

      All that said, I would not trade you. I expect my CJVs to pick up enough of their own “character marks” over time.

      • spam said,

        July 12, 2010 at 8:35 pm

        lol , ahead of the game indeed. thanks for the description, i know next to nothing about printing/bookmaking. my friend was hell bent on my having come into a small fortune by the vagaries of the binder, but i am less confident. The text is indeed quite legible, its just like a picture hanging slightly crooked, you can still see the painting. i shall just be thankful that all in all i will not be on those pages for a comparatively long time compared to the rest of the book.

  11. Rhialto said,

    July 12, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I received today a notice from TNT Post that they tried to deliver a package today (for which they want some money) and I wasn’t there. They are going to try again tomorrow (with no time indicated, and while they are pretty sure I’m not there, either (statistically they must know that sort of thing)), and only the day after that, I can come and collect it at a post office. They even print in bold print that it is not possible to collect the package before that. So Wednesday, I’ll have my copies too!


Leave a Reply

