Erata: Most Important

Folks,

As you peruse your copies, you may come across something that looks like a typo or other sort of errata. I encourage you to post your errata here. I am happy to take your findings in e-mail, but that means that some items may be reported numerous times. If they are posted here, I’ll note the first occurrence, and no one need bother any further.

Jack’s work comes to something like 4.4 million words. If we messed up one word in 100,000, that’s 44 errors. I can almost assure you that there are 44 errors in our text, although many have been passed down to the CVIE through the VIE and even from Jack’s manuscripts.

Errata come from an amazing number of sources. Many times, “errata” are found that are false positives. That is, something appears in a peculiar way because Jack wanted it that way. I have access to the original VIE editing documents, and can check out any particular errata.

The only way this may help you is this: if we discover some large error due to our own typesetting, we can print a correction and mail it out. Of course, Joel Anderson loses his Nympharium privileges for various periods of time, or for minor errors, must make due with the older Nymphs.

If you do find something, post it in this thread. If you wish to send it to me via e-mail, start the subject line as follows: “CVIE Errata” and I will deal with it as soon as I can.

47 Comments

  1. töff said,

    June 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I never thought I’d actually WANT to find an error in the CVIE. You’ve really thrown down the gants, here, man.

  2. wrycur said,

    June 2, 2010 at 5:44 am

    Found another one, Bob. In Nopalgarth, vol 1, p. 546, halfway down the L column:Burke says
    “…..it’s really the analogue who does the work–in fact, this is implication of the previous theory.”

    It should say “this is the implication………” as Jack was not trying to sound Russian.

    In the Daw paperback the word “the” is there.

    • rclacovara said,

      June 2, 2010 at 12:12 pm

      It will be interesting to see if this one is in the original VIE textport or not.

      Bob

      • Rhialto said,

        July 17, 2010 at 2:03 pm

        It appears that way (missing “the”) in Totality.
        It is the right-hand column though.
        I thought I read Nopalgarth last year, I looked for my copy but could not find it. So I can’t compare to whatever that version is.

    • Kurt said,

      June 2, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      The Ace double The Brains of Earth/The Many Worlds of Magnus Ridolph has the error (pg 84). The text must be Tauptu!

  3. wrycur said,

    June 2, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Sorry; the above should have been Vol 2, not Vol 1.

    And here is the other, Vol 1, p. 896, Bird Isle, bottom of L column:
    last line of poster says “THE MANAGMENT” rather than ‘THE MANAGEMENT.”

  4. Earl P. Dean said,

    June 2, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    It sounds as if you’ve started mailing these based on the above comments. Is that right?

    • rclacovara said,

      June 2, 2010 at 5:39 pm

      Ah, I was afraid that someone would jump to that nearby-conclusion. But no, they are not yet in VA, they are somewhere in the Atlantic Ocean at the moment. However, there are 6 sets floating about: three sets that are just the contents, in the hands of my three editors. One set held by the printer; one set ship via air to someone in the States, and one set picked up by someone who lived in Italy. I don’t have the books myself yet. However, I hear generally nice comments.

      I just wanted to get a jump on a dozen or so typos sent to me 8 times each…

      • Earl P. Dean said,

        June 2, 2010 at 6:05 pm

        I understand. What you’ve explained was the other likely situation I considered, or it was something like that. Thanks.

      • Kurt said,

        June 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

        I suspect that our pleasure in reading that the books have landed and been sent on on all their myriad ways will only be exceeded by Bob’s pleasure in write same.

      • rclacovara said,

        June 2, 2010 at 7:35 pm

        Let me tell you something… a teaser if you will.

        The first half of the original VIE took up a 40′ tractor trailer. Well, maybe something shorter, but some 22,000 volumes didn’t fit in my mailbox. Destination was a warehouse owned by a Vance fan. Legal owner of the warehouse? Treesong Industries. I kid you not.

        Well, partway across the Pond, a following wave overtook the ship. Our container was on deck, but wasn’t one that washed off. Instead, a wave crushed open the doors, and it flooded. However, our printer knows what she’s about, and has been doing this for a bit, and not a single book was wet, since every pallet was wrapped and re-wrapped in plastic.

        Now, the insurance company told me, “don’t worry”. “What????!!!!!” “Yea, if that cargo is wet, we’ll scrap it (‘aggghhhh aggghhhh’) and pay you every cent of the cost to replace it.” I almost passed out. It had taken weeks to pack those volumes into sets… Money? What would I do with the money? Line my coffin?

        Well, they made me wait 4 extra days. Now I spent that time in my home town, mostly hanging out with one of my high school’s drum majors… To make a long story short, I decided to marry her, and hang out with her some more. So I did.

        But the books still caused a lot of grey hair.

  5. wrycur said,

    June 4, 2010 at 12:39 am

    Interesting that omission of “the” in Nopalgarth occurred in the Ace double but not the Daw paperback.

    But I can see that you just can’t get rid of errata like this permanently; after a month the nopal come down and reinfest the text and there you are.

    • rclacovara said,

      June 4, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      Where were you guys when we were struggling with this originally? One of the texts had six hundred (600) errata! Each and every one was tracked back to manuscript, best copy, John, Norma or Jack Vance.

      Bob

      • töff said,

        June 4, 2010 at 4:46 pm

        Well, I know I volunteered to proofread. Of course, proofreading only catches typos & misspellings, not original-text concerns.

  6. wrycur said,

    June 4, 2010 at 12:46 am

    I’m the guy who opted for special air shipment, in case I can answer any questions about the appearance(beautiful) or quality (ditto) or layout, for, e.g., Earl or anyone.

    • Earl P. said,

      June 4, 2010 at 6:33 pm

      I was mainly just curious about the spine– maybe it’s identical between all volumes except for a volume number on each book. Any clarification on that would satisfy my curiosity. The one shown above looks great, interior, exterior etc.

      • wrycur said,

        June 8, 2010 at 5:46 am

        That’s right, Earl. Check my comments on the spine in the thread with the pictures.
        Roman numerals for the Vol number.

  7. wrycur said,

    June 5, 2010 at 7:59 am

    One more thing– the illustration shown in Stefania’s photo is, I think, from Abercrombie Station, and that’s Vol 6. At any rate, I haven’t found that illustration in Vols 1 or 2.

    • wrycur said,

      June 5, 2010 at 11:48 am

      Correction. It’s similar to one for Abercrombie Station that’s also in the VIE Graphics Volume, but is in fact from Star King, p. 59 of Vol 1, where Gersen comes upon the ravaged Pallis Atwrode out on Hildemar Dasce’s worldlet.

      There are etchings in Vol 1 for all 5 of the Demon Princes stories.

      I guess I should really have put this in the other thread.

  8. töff said,

    July 3, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Vol.I p.368 col.2,
    under “25th Wedding Anniversary,”
    “returnof” needs a space.

  9. JackBlackAust said,

    July 10, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    A small error.
    ‘The Killing Machine’ Vol 2 p.130 Column 1, line 10: “in continently” should be “incontinently”.

  10. töff said,

    July 10, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Vol.I p.57 col.1 par.2:
    “laying” s/b “lying”

    JackBlackAust said > ‘The Killing Machine’ Vol 2
    The Killing Machine is in Vol.I (erratum on the erratum?).

  11. wrycur said,

    July 12, 2010 at 2:54 am

    Bob has already seen these in e-mail (I’m the one who paid extra for special air shipment), but I thought I should post them so the rest of you can see.

    In Emphyrio, p.487, col 2: “Framtree’s Peripazetic Entercationers” should be “peripatetic.” The same error repeats in a handbill on p. 558. I have to think this spilled through from the start, i.e., Norma didn’t even catch it when typing.

    Bird Island, p. 865, col 1, midway down: “”he stood on top the crag” should be “on top of the crag.”

    D.P., vol 2, p. 870, col 2, bottom: the Temple article is dated “April 31.”

    D.P., p. 874, the NYTimes article: some punctuation is missing. Between COMMUNITIES and SOVEREIGNTY a dash or comma is needed, likewise between PUDESTOV and ANGRILY.

    This last could be argued to be “Vancean punctuation” also.

    Apart from the two earlier in this thread, these are all I’ve found after reading about 55% of both Vols, more of 2 than 1.

    Looking forward to the “Reviews” thread; will have things to say there too. All the best, wrycur

    • dfan said,

      September 5, 2010 at 2:03 am

      I noticed both instances of “peripatezic” (not “peripazetic”) but just assumed it was a funny portmanteau-ish invention, just like the “entercationers” that follows it.

  12. dfan said,

    July 12, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Here are mine through p. 300 or so of volume I:

    Page 24 column 1 paragraph 7: ‘panted Gersen “Call the Tutelars”‘ looks like it is missing a comma or period after Gersen. I see that the Tor edition actually has extra text between ‘Gersen’ and ‘”Call”‘ (“By all means,” panted Gersen, suddenly brimming with vindictiveness. “Call the Tutelars.”; I don’t know whether it was omitted intentionally as part of TI or not.

    P130 c1 p1: in continently -> incontinently

    P167 c1 p14: Shouldn’t there be a line break between the chorus (“He’s with me to the end”) and the following verse (“To woo a dainty Eskimo”)?

    P267 c2 p5: Jamile W allow -> Jamile Wallow

    • rclacovara said,

      July 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm

      I am not sure of the status of all of these, but I can almost guarantee you that “suddenly brimming with vindictiveness” never came from the hand of Jack Vance. Editors did all sorts of outrageous things; I’ll describe one event for you in the main page…

  13. dfan said,

    July 15, 2010 at 1:45 am

    A couple more:

    Page 292 column 2 paragraph 5: “back- plate”
    P315 c2 p3: “fin ger”

  14. töff said,

    July 22, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Vol.I-p.57-col.2-¶2 “laying” s/b “lying”
    Vol.I-p.153-col.1-¶2 “of the mark” s/b “off the mark”?
    Vol.I-p.189-col.2-¶8 quote within quote s/b single quotation marks
    Vol.I-p.201-col.1-¶2 “and too was gone” s/b “and he too was gone”
    Vol.I-p.201-col.1-¶4 extraneous emdash s/b space

    I notice unusual spellings: gayety, practise. Maybe they are Vance’s preferences.

    BOB – please – will we ever see that letter about punctuation? My contortions continue as I try to understand the comma. Vance’s use of it amazes me.

    • rclacovara said,

      July 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm

      These have to be checked against the VIE masters. These are Word versions of the titles, with extensive endnotes that describe a possible error, and the resolution. Daw is hardly an iron-clad guarantee of what Jack wrote, although it’s possible something in Daw is correct, and the VIE corrupted it. We’ll see…

      • töff said,

        July 23, 2010 at 3:27 pm

        I put a question mark on the one I wasn’t sure of. The rest are common sense and English grammar. The “and too was gone” erratum might take any of several corrections; I just supplied the simplest.

  15. wrycur said,

    July 23, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Töff is right; these are “new” errata, in the sense that they are not in the DAW paperback and hence must be peculiar to the CVIE, or maybe the VIE too. The last 3 he mentions are definitely not in the paperback; all are correct there.

  16. wrycur said,

    July 27, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Here’s one more: Vol 1, p. 787, The View From Chickweed’s Window, R column, halfway down:
    text says “obligato” when it should be “obbligato.”

    • dfan said,

      September 5, 2010 at 1:57 am

      I noticed another “obligato” myself (p. 590, c.1, par. 2) but apparently it is an acceptable variant.

  17. töff said,

    August 5, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Vol.I-p.345-col.1-¶4 “th e” (extraneous space) s/b “the”

    The following two matters might require consulting the VIE text-repair records.

    Vol.I-p.318-col.1-¶2 I question the spelling “St. Paidrigh”; perhaps it s/b “St. Padraig,” the common spelling of the saint’s name; also, Vance uses the spelling “Padraig” elsewhere (Lyonesse).

    Vol.I-p.320-col.2-¶2 “blowzy” is not a known variant of “blowsy” afaik. “Blowsy” occurs in multiple titles at http://pharesm.org/search.php?q=blowsy

    • wrycur said,

      August 10, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Could you have read this wrong? In my book it’s spelled “blowsy.”

      • töff said,

        August 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm

        You’re right: I read it wrong. How bizarre! Another brainfail on my part.

        Meanwhile, I’ve noticed an instance of “gaiety,” the standard spelling, at odds with the aforementioned “gayety” that appeared several times. Perhaps there’s some reason for it. I get irked when I see “gray” spellt with an “e.” 🙂

        If we were discussing anything but the VIE texts, I’d call us compulsive-obsessive!

      • rclacovara said,

        August 11, 2010 at 2:43 pm

        As far as reading something wrongly, that’s why we didn’t let a text go without three passes by proofers, who were ahead of the editors. It happens. I let “The House on Lily Steet” go by me, even though it was set in 18 pts. Something about it bothered me… before I could go back and check, someone came in the room and asked if anyone had seen it…

        As far as spelling goes, Jack is idiosyncratic. He spells “gray” both ways; he’ll use the “u” in “colour” in the Lyonesse series and elsewhere. As he says, it’s how he thinks it looks. Spelling consistency isn’t what he wants: he wants each sentence to do its job with style. His style, of course.

  18. wrycur said,

    August 11, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Yes, we’re definitely not compulsive-obsessive. We’re not. We’re not.We’re…….

    You know, I use two spellings for some words too–it kind of depends what mood I’m in, I guess.
    Like “traveled” and “travelled.” Jack sometimes seems to prefer the American spelling and sometimes the British, on a lot of words.

    I kind of like it, actually; in the spirit of Emerson’s famous quote “A foolish consistency is the
    hobgoblin of little minds.”

    On the other hand, consistency is nice when you can get it.

    It’s not that I’m indecisive or anything.?!?

  19. dfan said,

    September 5, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Vol I p 605 col 2 par 3: “Bynum’sDock” is missing a space
    Vol I p 611 col 1 par 2: “Miraldra’s Enchantment moved north” has no period
    Vol I p 670 col 2 par 8: “joy of it” has a paragraph break in the middle of it

  20. amccray said,

    October 27, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I’m not sure that here is the proper place for this, but I’ve seen it twice now, and curiosity is sometimes fatal. In Bad Ronald (a grim story, but I enjoyed it–I think I’m a sociopath), in Vol. 1p 852, col 1, third paragraph up from the bottom, Duane says, “Suppose I go to work for Interpol, or join the Peace Corps or…” There is at least one more mention of the Peace Corps in another story dated before 1960 (perhaps The View From Chickweed’s Window?–yes. vol 1 p 752 col 1 par 12). Bad Ronald is dated 1955, The View… 1959.

    Wikipedia tells me about the Peace Corps: “It was established by Executive Order 10924 on March 1, 1961, and authorized by the Congress on September 22, 1961…” Further down it also mentions, “…first initiative came from Senator Hubert H. Humphrey, Jr. (D-Minnesota), who introduced the first bill to create the Peace Corps in 1957…”

    So how do these two anachronisms (?) explain themselves? Anyone know?

  21. VanceReader said,

    January 23, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Bob,

    I emailed you about this first about an hour ago, before I saw this link. There is a big omission from my copy of THE COMPLETE VANCE volume 5– all pages in the range 801-808 are completely missing from my copy. That’s pages 801, 802, 803,804,805,806,807,808, all missing. Is that unavoidable? If not, I hope you’ll make this right for me and any others who encounter this.

    Volume 6 seems to be bound okay as the page count is complete and consecutive as required.

    • rclacovara said,

      January 24, 2011 at 10:01 am

      I have e-mailed you separately, but for those others who have run to check their books: this appears to be an isolated incident. I believe that in this case, one entire signature was not bound in. I’m sorry about it, but it happens. I will replace anyone’s book that is missing a signature, unless you realize that the value to a collector is now 2 or 3 times what you paid. Well, perhaps not… 😉 Most of you, I gather, want to actually READ these books…

      It is always a good idea to thumb through the books, you know. Mistakes happen.

      Bob

  22. Captain Cudgel said,

    January 28, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Don’t know if this is the right place for this. Reporting some grey powder caught between a chuck of sequential pages at the same area along the gilded back edge of the pages in both Vol V and VI. I brushed it all off with a mushroom brush (not mine! Only borrowed, yeah that’s the ticket) and a slight grey stain remains but I think it is just the powder and all comes off eventually not being bound to the paper.

    • rclacovara said,

      January 29, 2011 at 2:55 pm

      Um, can you take a picture? Grey as in mouse-grey, or grey as in the color of the wrapping cardboard?

  23. Captain Cudgel said,

    January 31, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    After brushing it off it is not visible enough for a picture to show, I tried. I can hardly see any of it. It turned out to also be in Vol V and it was only between the front pages to a depth of 3 mm or a bit more.

    The grey was like a lite grey mouse. not unlike the first thick page in the books but a bit lighter, but thats likely just coincidence.

    It is not a problem at all, just good for you to know I think.

  24. April 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    In Showboats (vol.19), I wonder whether something is missing in the middle of page 76. I can’t tell who speaks the lines “Where do you go?” and “Where do you wish to go?”; whether I attribute them to Apollon Zamp or to Damsel Blanche-Aster, they don’t quite fit the flow of the scene.

    Also in the early part of Showboats I saw, but sadly did not make note of, a misplaced or unbalanced comma, in a phrase of this form: “the town of Grover’s Mill which, although young already has a rich history”. (The comma could be put before ‘which’, or removed, or balanced with another after ‘young’.)


Leave a Reply

