Shipping semi-update

I was waiting until I had a bit more information before I posted, but since several people have pinged me on this, I’d give you the information I have.

The books are packed, wrapped and palletized at the printer’s warehouse in Milan. According to the printer, they will be enroute today or tomorrow. I have been waiting for the shipping information which I don’t have yet, but as soon as I have it, I’ll post it. Shipping information will be available to me as soon as the shipper has accepted the consignment, which means that it’s out of the printer’s hands and on the way.

Once I know the routing, I’ll know withing a day when it should be here in Virginia. At that point, I start sending all of it out again.

Volumes 3 & 4 are at the printer, in-process. Volumes 5 & 6 are set, and are either at the printer or on the way: we have to send them via airmail on disk, since the pdfs are so large.

As I get actual dates, I will post them.

Getting much closer!

Bob

7 Comments

  1. Daniel Ingram said,

    May 18, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I realize that you wrote that you would give more details when you knew something, but a week has gone by and my curiosity has gotten the better of me. Any news? Shipped? Still in warehouse? Pilfered by Yips?

  2. töff said,

    May 18, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    “Hi, this is Bob. I’m not home right now; I’m down on the beach scanning the horizon for a ship. Please leave your message at the tone.”

  3. Kurt said,

    May 18, 2010 at 9:37 pm

    Ah töff. Bob seems to have read ahead of you:

    “Social status is all important, but it is based upon subtleties and conditions which are quite incomprehensible to the visitor. To make a crude generalization, status derives from avoiding work and, with an ineffably cavalier flourish, inducing someone else to undertake the task.”

  4. wrycur said,

    May 19, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Greetings my good friends – this is Honorable Bob’s Security Supervisor Pilferanus Madoffius Lightfingers, Oomphaw of Yipton, informing all you rich woskers that, certainly, we stole your books! But if you come to Thurben Island we will give them back, ha ha!

    Ah–sorry, I must cut this inspirational message short, a boat is overtaking me–I do hope it’s not that annoying Bureau B———

    • Kurt said,

      May 21, 2010 at 5:54 pm

      Addled recollections can result when a person, especially an Oomp with much the same standing and responsibilities of his counterparts in Bureau B, is so ignominiously accused of theft. Surely you explained that for a nominal fee you would extract any books which had been inexplicably mixed the cargo lawfully detained by the Oomphaw and that with the greatest pleasure you would expedite their return after accessing the proper recovery charges and taxes. Bureau B will certainly realize their error soon and return you to your duties and your friends.

      But hold! Might not their present fervor in this case cause them to sequester you own possessions here at Yipton? Think not a moment on my inconvenience! Send instructions on where to find these goods and you will be able to rest safe and happy in the knowledge that I will care for them as I would my own.

      • Kurt said,

        May 21, 2010 at 6:32 pm

        Woe! This reply was meant for a later posting by the Oomphaw.

  5. töff said,

    June 12, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Where’s that damn boat! Abby Sunderland wasn’t piloting, was she?


Leave a Reply

