Update 2/6/2010

Well, the final hi-resolution PDFs should have been in my hands, for last and final approval. Trouble is, it started snowing yesterday sometime before dawn, has continued for 26 hours, and is supposed to go on through 5 PM. We have 18″ of snow, and more to arrive. Where the disks are with the PDFs is anyone’s guess. At the bottom of my driveway, 1/3 of a mile long and 200′ below Afton House? At the Afton Post Office? 1.0 miles away, and 600′ vertically above Afton House? Dunno… But as soon as I can get them to page through them, and nod yes, the printer will have them.

Volume 3 is set, and a PDF is going out to proofing. Volume 4 isn’t far behind.

Believe it or not, I am just now reading Jack’s autobiography. It’s a good read, and it’s pure Vance: there’s something characteristic of his writing, the understated and occasionally mordant humor, which makes me laugh out loud. My family is used to this. I advise you to get a copy, if you haven’t already. Besides, there’s a passing acknowledgment to me on the last page… of that I am inordinately proud.

If I have time later today, I’ll upload a picture of the actual “Afton House”. For a fact, one of the aspects does look like the Afton House logo, and the moon even does appear in the place shown from time to time.

2 Comments

  1. wrycur said,

    February 9, 2010 at 5:46 am

    Jack’s autobiography is indeed very interesting, Bob, and reminded me that my wife and I spent the first few days of the year in the SF area. In particular, I have a few pictures of Jack’s birthplace at 2660 Filbert in Pacific Heights. The house, now a duplex, looks about the same as in the 1920 picture of young Jack sitting on the wall in front, except that there’s no longer a low wall in front of the sidewalk.

    I’ll talk to töff and see if we can figure out a way to make the pictures viewable.

    Good luck with your extreme weather (the new norm?), wrycur

  2. Rebecca said,

    February 11, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I got hold of a copy of This Is Me, Jack Vance, some while ago but it hasn’t worked its way to the top of the “to read” pile. I think I’ll jump it up in the queue in honor of the imminence (not to say immanence) of the first couple of CVIE volumes.

    Good luck with power and warmth. The snow sounds pretty dire all across your part of the country. . . .


Leave a Reply

