Update and Status, 11 January 2010

Hello…

I began to wonder at the silence from the Composition Department, so I pinged him. Seems that Volume 1 is ready to print. Volume 2 is waiting release from my Proofing Department. Turns out that the “Proofing Department” is about at the end of his vacation in the Dutch Antilles or something like that, presumably warmer than here at Afton House, where the temperature at night has been falling to 15F.

In any event, once my proofer releases Volume 2 (this week?), both volumes will go out to the printer, and I’ll have a firm printing date. From that, I’ll have a pretty good estimate of when you will receive your first two volumes.

By the way, the spine width of each volume is the same, 62mm. I’ll try to have more details before you actually can measure the books themselves.

4 Comments

  1. Rebecca said,

    January 12, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Thanks for the updates, and the good work. I’m looking forward to the volumes.

  2. wrycur said,

    January 20, 2010 at 2:44 am

    Sounds like you didn’t know he was going on vacation, Bob. That’s the trouble with volunteer labor, eh?

    Well, after reading about all that’s involved in producing these volumes on the archive, it’s a wonder to me they come out at all. (Like Dr Samuel Johnson’s dog, walking on his hind legs.)

    Don’t worry, we can wait. All the best to you.

    • rclacovara said,

      January 20, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      Thanks, I appreciate the patience. I don’t like to delay, once people have begun to send money. Some of you know me, and have no concerns, but for other people on the subscribers’ list I’m just characters on the screen. Still, the first two volumes are not all that far off.

    • rclacovara said,

      January 20, 2010 at 1:19 pm

      Managing volunteers is much the same as herding cats, at best. At worst, it’s much like corralling ball bearings spilled on a tabletop. 😉

      Bob


Leave a Reply

