Welcome Vancians!

I’ve decided that the easiest way to keep subscribers and interested parties informed on the status of the publication is to blog. Here it is: if it seems useful, I’ll keep it.

At the moment, Volume 1 is ready to print. Volume 2 is almost ready: a few days and it’s off to the printer. Books should be printed by early January, and subscribers will get their books as soon as they are shipped first from Milan to Virginia, and then from Virginia to the subscriber.

More later…

10 Comments

  1. December 21, 2009 at 1:27 am

    “…a total cost of $1295 and a deposit of $ 400 till Dec. 15th…”
    is this still valid as I was a mite spaced out with work these last weeks
    and just simply forgot.
    I would really like to get that edition and so you can definitely count me in but this is not the right season to make presents to onself – can we postpone for a month or six weeks ?
    End of January would be quite perfect for payment issues.

    Also I reside abut 800 miles form Milan as the crow files- is there a way to ship more dirctly than via Australia or at least the US of Am ?

    Cheers and a good year to you
    Hans Langenkamp
    Portugal

    • rclacovara said,

      December 21, 2009 at 2:53 pm

      Hans, the 15th is nun-cupatory. I’ve not sold out, so I am accepting subscriptions still. I expect to ship the first two volumes together in January. Details will be here.

      You should know that in addition to the $1295, you must pay shipping and packaging. If you are in the US, this will run about $45; if overseas, it depends on where you are.

      In any event, if you don’t like the first two volumes, you may return them to me at your expense and I’ll return your money less my shipping. Write me at my e-mail address if you have any questions. /Bob/

      • Rhialto said,

        December 21, 2009 at 10:39 pm

        When shipping via the USA, can you at least indicate a nominal value on the packages, so that we don’t needlessly need to pay import duty on something that was printed in Europe in the first place? (Or otherwise, provide some proof to that effect so that we may try to persuade the tax man?) Thanks! I’m looking forward to them!

      • rclacovara said,

        December 22, 2009 at 2:18 am

        Hm, what would be the least value that we could get away with, do you suppose?

      • TH said,

        December 22, 2009 at 6:21 pm

        Does it really matter that the books were printed within the EU? My guess would be that the tax authority will see it as irrelevant. U.S. publisher = U.S. goods.

        It’s also important to remember that even if the apparent price of the goods is well below the taxable amount, the customs office may still inspect your package and ask you for a receipt that shows how much you paid for it. This happened to me when I bought a used hand-held game console from the U.S. some while back, although when I actually went to pick it up, they said I can just have it, since it’s such a small purchase. I didn’t have to show any receipt of the purchase (although they had asked for it via mail). But one never knows.

        The VAT for books is only 8% here in Finland.

      • Rhialto said,

        December 22, 2009 at 8:12 pm

        My Songs of the Dying Earth book came through fine (quite a big book), it was marked $40 I think. I don’t know what the official limit is though.

      • rclacovara said,

        December 22, 2009 at 8:54 pm

        It’s hard to say… the laws seem to vary. Some places don’t have a VAT on books, others are confusing…

        Bob

  2. töff said,

    December 21, 2009 at 1:51 am

    The blog’s a great idea, far easier than emailing updates.

    Go CVIE go!

  3. Joe Rieker said,

    December 21, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Thank you, Bob. Very nice of you to think of this. Hope you’re not too busy with NASA. All good wishes.

  4. TH said,

    December 23, 2009 at 2:29 am

    $124 would not only get through here unless bad luck intervened, but also, if bad luck did intervene, would be easy to explain as an oversight (since it’s close to $424, which I paid for the package).

    I’d be happy with such an arrangement. I doubt customs officials suspect that books can be expensive.

    Naturally, this message would have to be deleted at some point.


Leave a Reply

